House Is Open


Seventeen Judges of Papua New Guinea added colour to the official opening of the 10th Parliament yesterday.

Their red coloured ceremonial dresses stood out among the dignitaries and crowd who were there to be part of the ceremony in front of the Parliament House to join Chief Justice Sir Salamo Injia, Speaker Job Pomat, Prime Minister Peter O’Neill, Opposition Leader Patrick Pruaitch and their wives.

The judges of the National and Supreme Courts turned up for the official opening in their full ceremonial attire.

They included Deputy Chief Justice Sir Gibbs Salika, justices Les Gavara-Nanu, Ambeng Kandakasi, Elenas Batari, Allen David, Derek Hartshorn, Ere Kariko, Stephen Kassman, Jacinta Murray, Iova Geita, Robert Lindsay, Leka Nablu, Kenneth Frank, Frazer Pitpit, Hitelai Polume-Kiele, Terence Higgins, Lawrence Kangwia and Martin Ipang.

Governor-General Sir Bob Dadae turned up in his white ceremonial dress, accompanied by the parade host Colonel Raymond Numa to inspect the Guard of Honour. Colonel Numa is acting Commander of the Papua New Guinea Defence Force.

The guard of honour was from the 1st Royal Pacific Island Regiment and a combined Royal Papua New Guinea Constabulary and Correctional Services band provided the music for the ceremony as the leaders were escorted to the Parliament chambers for the official address by Sir Bob.

There was a 19-gun salute and traditional singsing groups performed on the parliament grounds while Sir Bob delivered his message to the nation and officially opened the 10th National Parliament.

Prior to that, Speaker Job Pomat gave his welcome speech.

When the governor-general and chief justice retired from the chambers, Parliament was adjourned to 2pm at which a Deputy Speaker was elected. He is Nipa-Kutubu MP Jeffery Komal who had 57 votes to 47.

The Prime Minister Peter O’Neill also gave his address to Parliament and the nation.

Parliament was adjourned to September 26.

Leave a Reply