Six Provinces Declared CBB Infested

Six Highlands provinces have been declared as disease areas following the outbreak of the destructive coffee berry borer (CBB) in Banz, Jiwaka Province.

The coffee-producing provinces affected, apart from Jiwaka, are Western Highlands, Chimbu, Eastern Highlands, Southern Highlands and Enga.

CBB, poses a major threat to Papua New Guinea’s K700 million industry since its detection on February 21.

National Agriculture Quarantine and Inspection Authority (NAQIA) managing director Joel Alu said in a paid newspaper advertisement yesterday that the declaration means that the movement of coffee cherry parchment and green beans out of the disease areas into non-infested areas are prohibited at this stage.

Mr Alu said that Agriculture and Livestock Minister Tommy Tomscoll had declared the six provinces as disease areas effective from March 8 until further notice.

Mr Tomscoll said yesterday that he would make a detailed announcement today at a news conference in Port Moresby.

The minister’s declaration which has also been gazetted in the National Gazette also means that infested coffee beans and trees in the disease areas must be destroyed. He also declared restricted areas which are all coffee growing provinces and prohibitive measures to eradicate, contain and manage the spread of CBB also known by its scientific name hypothenemus hampei.

timthumb (4)

All coffee dealers are prohibited from selling or buying unprocessed coffee in the restricted areas unless approved by the Coffee Industry Corporation (CIC).

The CIC may also confiscate and dispose of coffee plants or tree parts suspected of being contaminated and do the same for materials used in the transportation of suspected contaminated coffee.

It may also prevent transportation of processed coffee from restricted areas to the point of export, the only exception is when a fumigation notice is granted by the CIC.

Post-Courier March 15, 2017 3.04 am

Leave a Reply